fallen_angel02I received the following question:

In Ephesians 6:12 where among other things we are not struggling against, “spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.” I looked at the 7 appearances of poneria and I’ve done the study on spiritual/pneumatikos, and its basic meaning of being of, or from God directly. Now, when I study this, I feel like I’m going in circles. I’m stuck. Will you help me?

Of course! What were created by God here were the forces. For example, Satan himself was a “force,” a being of great power and authority, who was created by God. However, he chose to use that power and authority he was given in opposition to God, and thus he became a wicked force rather than a Godly one. Nevertheless, this did not change the fact that he was a force that was created directly by God. He is a spiritual force, but through his own choices he has become a spiritual force of wickedness. He is among heavenly beings because God created and placed Him there. He is wicked because he chose to become so. The same is true of all the spiritual forces of wickedness.

