kingjesus02I received the following question:

I thought I heard you say in one of your lessons on Bins For Bible Prophecies that when our Lord comes back to this earth during the thousand years that it would NOT be for Him to reign. Did I misunderstand you or did I understand you correctly? If I did understand you correctly what do you believe is meant when John said the following? “Blessed and holy is he that hath part in the first resurrection: on such the second death hath no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with him a thousand years” (Rev 20:6).

A very good question. I believe you did understand me correctly. I think I was not as clear as I should have been, however. You are quite correct that while Jesus Christ is here on earth, He will be reigning over the earth. I did not mean to say that He will not be reigning. What I meant to say is that He is not coming back IN ORDER TO reign. That is, He will already have been reigning for hundreds of years before He ever comes to earth for the parousia. He is not coming to the earth so that He can reign over it, for He has already been doing that. Instead, He is coming to the earth to be personally present on earth with His saints. That is not to say that He will not be reigning, but that He does not come so that He can reign. That was the point I was trying to make.
 
Acts 7:49 (quoting Isaiah 66:1) declares, “Heaven is My throne, And earth is My footstool. What house will you build for Me? says the LORD, Or what is the place of My rest?” This will be the condition of things during the premillennial kingdom. Heaven will be the seat of God’s government, and Christ will be in heaven, reigning from the throne. At the time of the parousia, however, He comes to earth from heaven, and will reign from here for a thousand years. He does not move from heaven to earth in order to rule over the earth, however, since He has already been doing that. Instead, He moves to be present among His people. That is what I was trying to set forth.

