I received the following question:

Someone close to me gave me a necklace with a triquetra on it, a symbol that has been associated with the Trinity within Christianity.  However, I know that there is some other non-Christian means that it could also be associated with.  I do want to keep it and wear it because someone close to me gave it to me out of genuine love for me and respect for my faith. My concerns lay in these: by wearing it, does it show that I support “religion” as accepted by most people today, and also, does it violate “symbolism” ideas concerning stuff like not having an image of God engraved in your brain?

It is questionable to use symbology, particularly symbols that are also used by current-day pagans. However, I do not believe that we have any kind of Divine mandate regarding things like this. We live in a day when God’s grace is being shown to all men. Rules regarding symbols are not something that applies to us.

That said, you have to decide what seems right to you in this case. This symbol is currently becoming popularly known because of its use in a television show about witches, “Charmed.” However, it is also used to symbolize the trinity on the cover of the New King James Version, as published by Thomas Nelson, Inc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triquetra

What would concern me is what people will identify you with when they see it, especially those who might see it but not ask you about it. Is it similar enough to the symbol used on “Charmed” that people might think you are supporting that show? Or is it more distinctly the “Christian” version of the symbol? Do you feel comfortable wearing it? You don’t view it necessarily as honoring to God, but can you wear it to honor this person you love without feeling that you are being dishonoring to God? These are questions you must decide for yourself.

Sorry that I cannot offer you more positive guidance on this, but in this day, we do have much leeway to make our own decisions. Ultimately, don’t place too much importance on this. We are not under bondage in regards to things like this. Yet each of us does ultimately answer to his Lord.

