I received the following question:

Referring to when Christ shall reign from Heaven, you say: “Heaven will be the seat of God’s government, and Christ will be in heaven, reigning from the throne. ” I agree with what you say about where Christ will be reigning from during His pre-parousia kingdom. However, this presents another question in my mind. I have read in one of Otis Sellers’ articles that he believed toward the end of his ministry that the church of this dispensation would not be located far above all heavens when we appear with Him in glory but that we would be on this earth instead. I have not heard you speak on any of this yet but I am just trying to understand what would be wrong with the idea of us having access to where our Lord is now dwelling “in heaven” and from whence He will be ruling during those pre-millennial days of His kingdom. Maybe you could comment on this for me.

I believe Mr. Sellers adopted this idea right about at the middle of his ministry (circa 1955, his ministry going from about 1925 to 1985.)

You use some interesting words in phrasing this question. First you use the word “located,” then the phrase “having access to.” Where you are “located” would be where you base your operations, where you live your life, ultimately where you are dwelling. Having access to a place is a far different matter. I believe that I have access to most places on earth if I was willing to go through the work to get there. I do not really have access to outer space, or anywhere off the earth. I certainly do not have access to heaven, nor does any other man living on earth at this time. Yet having access to a place is far different from dwelling there. I have access to Florida, and have used that access, having gone there on vacation. I am not located in Florida, however, and have never lived there.

As far as our dwelling in heaven in the future, I do not find any clear passage, either before or after the great dispensational divide, that declares any such thing. Heaven is never set forth as our future hope. The earth in the kingdom, however, is again and again set forth as the future home of God’s redeemed. Paul affirms this in Ephesians 6:2-3. Here, he quotes the Old Testament command, “2 ‘Honor your father and mother,’ which is the first commandment with promise: 3 ‘that it may be well with you and you may live long on the earth.’” He specifically points out the promise aspect of it. However, in its original form, the promise was “that your days may be long, and that it may be well with you in the land which the LORD your God is giving you.” This refers to the land of Israel, and promises that their days will be long there if they obey. In quoting this verse to believers of our dispensation, Paul could make no such promise. However, he does not choose to leave the promise out. Instead, he points it out specifically, yet now he changes it from the land God gave Israel to just the earth in general. Our promise has not changed from earth to heaven. Instead, our promise is the earth in general as opposed to the land of Israel.

I do not believe that there is anything “wrong” with us having access to heaven. I do believe that we will have access to heaven in a way that we do not have it now. Certainly, depending upon my position in the kingdom to come, which only God knows, it could well be that as a representative of the King that He might call me up to heaven at some point to receive direct instruction from Him. It could also be, of course, that He might come to earth to visit me and give me such instruction. But I think travel back and forth between heaven and earth will become more commonplace.

At some point, I would expect that travel between earth and heaven will become almost a routine thing. That is, that just as I could get on a plane and travel to Florida, that I will likewise be able to just travel to heaven. Certainly this will be true in the new heavens and the new earth. Whether or not it will be true in the millennium, or in the premillennial kingdom, I am not as certain. It might be, or it might not be. But I do think there will be travel between the earth and heaven starting from the premillennial kingdom on. Whether or not you will just be able to decide you want to see heaven and go there at that point, I am not so certain, but I think we will get to that point eventually. However, our dwelling place will be the earth, and it is here that we will be stationed and here we will live out the majority of our lives during that eon.

