I received the following question:

In the I Timothy 3 study, you indicated that the gospel had not yet been written down. I would have thought that it was written down in I Corinthians 15:1-4.  No?

While I Corinthians 15:1-4 does summarize the gospel that Paul had proclaimed to the Corinthians, it does not do so in order to produce belief in anyone, but to remind them of what he had already taught them, and to lead them into what his real topic is at that time…that is, the resurrection. For this reason, the resurrection part of the gospel is elaborated on (in verses 5-8,) whereas some of the other parts, like Who this “Christ” is Who died for our sins, are only touched on briefly. But without an understanding of these other parts, like Who Christ is, the rest of the gospel is useless. I could believe Frank Smith died for my sins, was buried, and rose again, but it would do me no good. I need to understand that it was Christ Who did these things, and Who and what He is, before believing the gospel is at all meaningful. So Paul’s summary here is not complete, as it does not set down Who and what Christ is. It is in the gospels, particularly John, that this is set down for us. But those books had not been written yet in the time of I Corinthians.

That said, I think the gospels had been written by the time I Timothy was written. Was I referring to the Acts period when I said that?

