ticket02I received the following questions:

A friend (L) told me recently that because of my anger, when the Kingdom comes God will say to me…I never knew you.  Is this true?

(L) has frequently said that the time is short for the Kingdom to come in and that I would be sorry I didn’t do more..(also that my behavior is not up to snuff).

How do I know whether my behavior will keep me from entering into the Kingdom or even coming under the Kingdom?

Assuming your friend L is not the Lord Jesus Christ, I would say that she has no right to say whom God will and will not proclaim these words to. She obviously has no problem speaking in the place of God, but she has no authority to do so. She would do well to heed the Scripture that says, “Judge nothing before the time,” I Corinthians 4:5.

That said, if you have problems with anger, this is not good. This is not the character that makes up the “worthy walk” that every believer in Christ is supposed to display. You would do well to give heed to Ephesians 4 in this, “26. “Be angry, and do not sin”: do not let the sun go down on your wrath, 27 nor give place to the devil.” And, “31. Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. 32. And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.” The words “forgiving” and “forgave” in this last verse are actually the Greek word charis or “grace.” We are to deal graciously with each other, even as God deals graciously with us.

That said, do you think you have problems with anger? Your friend sounds like a questionable source of information regarding this. She sounds like she might be a person I would get quite angry with, myself. Do others think you have a problem with anger as well? If they do, you should take this seriously, and work to put on that new man in Christ that Paul speaks of in Ephesians 4-5.

None of us is sure, but I do tend to think that the time is short before the kingdom comes in, although compared to 1,950 years, “short” might be a relative term.

As for you not doing more or your behavior not being up to snuff, I don’t know how I can possibly comment on this, since I have not met you in person and observed your behavior or how much you are doing for God.

As for knowing whether or not your behavior will keep you from entering the kingdom, this is an easy answer. One does not enter into life in the Kingdom by doing, but rather by believing. As Romans 4:5 says:

5. But to him who does not work but believes on Him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is accounted for righteousness,

I would suggest you read the following articles by Otis Sellers.

http://www.seedandbread.org/seedandbread/SB001YouNeedaSavior.pdf

http://www.seedandbread.org/seedandbread/SB100TheGloryofBelieving.pdf

Both of them will help you understand how you can come to be a believer in God’s sight, and therefore can know that you will live in God’s kingdom.

