dove02I received the following question:

God uses the clearest words when HE reveals the most important thing which is the identity of God

Please from the Old Testamant ONLY
Show me a very clear verse saying the holy spirit is God.
Please show me a very clear verse from the Hebrew old testamant saying that the holy spirit is also God
regards

Why are you asking me these questions? You are not my college professor. Are you trying to get me to do your homework for you?

The fact that the Holy Spirit is God is not demonstrated by a clear verse saying that the Holy Spirit is also God, but by verses wherein His actions are said to be the actions of God, or wherein He is stated to be equal to God. As such, Isaiah 48:16 is one such passage:

16. “Come near to Me, hear this: I have not spoken in secret from the beginning; From the time that it was, I was there. And now the Lord God and His Spirit Have sent Me.”

Here, the Lord God and His Spirit are both said to have acted. Power cannot send someone, but a Person can.

Another example is Ezekiel 8:1-3.

1. And it came to pass in the sixth year, in the sixth month, on the fifth day of the month, as I sat in my house with the elders of Judah sitting before me, that the hand of the Lord GOD fell upon me there. 2. Then I looked, and there was a likeness, like the appearance of fire—from the appearance of His waist and downward, fire; and from His waist and upward, like the appearance of brightness, like the color of amber. 3. He stretched out the form of a hand, and took me by a lock of my hair; and the Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven, and brought me in visions of God to Jerusalem, to the door of the north gate of the inner court, where the seat of the image of jealousy was, which provokes to jealousy.

Here, the “Lord GOD” of verse 1 is the One Whose hand falls on Ezekiel, whereas in verse 3 the “Spirit lifted me up,” showing the Spirit and the Lord GOD to be the same.

It is much harder to find the Spirit in the Old Testament being spoken of as a personal Being, that is, God Himself. Many times it is unclear if God Himself or simply the power of God is meant. However, the two are obviously intimately connected, and so no clear distinction between them can be made. In the New Testament, there are much clearer instances of the Spirit acting in a personal way. However, there are some hints that the Spirit of God is God Himself in the Old Testament, as I have indicated above.

I pray this helps.

Keep studying the Word!

